WooCommerce

When creating an online store on the basis of WordPress one automatically encounters the term WooCommerce. But what do we mean by this?  WooCommerce is a Plugin (software component that extends an existing software), which the WordPress Content management system extended by the functionality of an online store. With a few clicks, your website becomes a functional web store.

WooCommerce with over 15 million installations, is the most used plug-in in online store Area.

What are the costs?

The Basic version of the software is available for download free of charge. There are Extensions for the range of functions of a store, but which then chargeable are. However, these additional plugins are relatively cheap compared to other store systems.

Criticisms

Critically seen WooCommerce at Partially missing interfaces in the merchandise management system. This must be checked before creating a store, so that an optimal link with WooCommerce is then also possible. Also, not every enterprise resource planning system is automatically supported.

Problems may also arise at times when the WooCommerce Store does not visually match the associated website. Then major adjustments in the area of CSS programming necessary. For the design work, the support of a design agency is then also recommended. Professional advice also helps if the store becomes too confusing due to a large number of articles or even knocks out the server.

 What is needed for this?

The Installation from WordPress and WooCommerce takes place with a web hoster with a matching domain. A SSL certificate is required for security reasons. For the external image of the website or online store there are numerous Themes to choose from, depending on the individual requirements of each store. For the construction and operation of the store are Plugins, i.e. extensions are available.

 What speaks for WooCommerce?

WooCommerce is suitable especially for small web stores, which is associated with WordPress be operated. The store can created quickly and easily are created and there are in the basic version none Costs. WooCommerce has a well processed user interfaceThe user can quickly familiarize himself with the handling of the program.

But WooCommerce offers itself also for large companies an. The software is so flexible that both physical products (shipping items), as well as digital products as well as Services can be offered and thus sold. However, the possible offer also includes the sale of tickets, online courses, subscriptions, reservations, memberships or products for B2B stores. From a technical point of view, there are with WooCommerce no limits to the type or number of products. Thus, with WooCommerce apartments can also be rented out or a pizza delivery service set up.

Legal aspects

When setting up WooCommerce care must be taken to ensure that it in Germany special regulations for online stores and, especially in the B2C end-customer business, there are numerous legal requirements must be taken into account. Special plugins such as Germanized or German Market help with this, WooCommerce then adapt German law. In any case, however, it is worthwhile to have a legal review by a specialist lawyer before going live.

More topics in our Glossary

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Agency & customer becomes a we.

Creating great things can only be done together!

WooCommerce

Bei der Erstellung eines Online-Shops auf  Basis von WordPress trifft man automatisch auf den Begriff WooCommerce. Doch was versteht man darunter?  WooCommerce ist ein Plugin (Software-Komponente, die eine bestehende Software erweitert), welches das WordPress Content Management System um die Funktionalität eines Online-Shops ausbaut. Mit wenigen Klicks wird aus Ihrer Webseite ein funktionstüchtiger Web-Shop.

WooCommerce ist mit über 15  Millionen Installationen das meist genutzte Plug-in im Online-Shop Bereich.

Welche Kosten entstehen?

Die Grundversion der Software steht kostenlos zum Download zur Verfügung. Es gibt Erweiterungen für den Funktionsumfang eines Shops, die dann aber kostenpflichtig sind. Diese Zusatz-Plugins sind im Vergleich zu anderen Shop-Systemen jedoch verhältnismäßig günstig.

Kritikpunkte

Kritisch gesehen wird WooCommerce bei teilweise fehlenden Schnittstellen im Warenwirtschaftssystem. Dies muss vor der Erstellung eines Shops geprüft werden, damit eine optimale Verknüpfung mit WooCommerce dann  auch möglich ist. Es wird auch nicht jedes Warenwirtschaftssystem automatisch unterstützt.

Es kann bisweilen auch zu Problemen kommen, wenn der WooCommerce Shop optisch nicht zu der zugehörigen Webseite passt. Dann werden größere Anpassungen im Bereich CSS-Programmierung notwendig. Für die Design-Bearbeitung ist dann auch die Unterstützung durch eine Design-Agentur zu empfehlen. Professioneller Rat hilft auch, wenn der Shop durch große Artikelvielfalt zu unübersichtlich wird oder sogar den Server ausknockt.

 Was wird dazu benötigt?

Die Installation von WordPress und WooCommerce erfolgt bei einem Webhoster mit einer passenden Domain. Ein SSL Zertifikat ist aus Sicherheitsgründen erforderlich. Für das äußere Bild der Website bzw. des Online-Shops gibt es zahlreiche Themes zur Auswahl, die von den individuellen Anforderungen des einzelnen Shops abhängig sind. Für Aufbau und Betrieb des Shops stehen Plugins, also Erweiterungen zur Verfügung.

 Was spricht für WooCommerce?

WooCommerce eignet sich vor allem für kleine Web-Shops, die mit WordPress betrieben werden. Der Shop kann schnell und einfach erstellt werden und es entstehen in der Grundversion keine Kosten. WooCommerce verfügt über eine gut verarbeitete Benutzeroberfläche, in deren Handhabung man sich schnell einarbeiten kann.

Doch WooCommerce bietet sich auch für große Unternehmen an. Die Software ist so flexibel, dass sowohl physische Produkte (Versandartikel), wie auch digitale Produkte sowie Dienstleistungen angeboten und damit verkauft werden können. Zum möglichen Angebot zählen aber auch der Verkauf von Eintrittskarten, Online-Kurse, Abonnements, Reservierungen, Mitgliedschaften oder Produkte für B2B-Shops. Aus technischer Sicht gibt es mit WooCommerce bei der Art oder Anzahl der Produkte keine Grenzen. So können mit WooCommerce auch Wohnungen vermietet oder ein Pizza-Lieferdienst eingerichtet werden.

Rechtliche Aspekte

Beim Einrichten von WooCommerce muss darauf geachtet werden, dass es in Deutschland besondere Regelungen für Online-Shops gibt und vor allem im Endkundengeschäft B2C zahlreiche gesetzliche Vorgaben berücksichtigt werden müssen. Spezielle Plugins wie Germanized oder German Market helfen dabei, WooCommerce dann das deutsche Recht anzupassen. In jedem Fall lohnt sich aber eine rechtliche Prüfung durch einen Fachanwalt vor dem finalen Live-Gang.

Weitere Themen in unserem Glossar

Keine Kommentare

Das Kommentarformular ist zur Zeit leider geschlossen.

Aus Agentur & Kunde wird ein Wir.

Großartiges erschaffen, das geht nur gemeinsam!