sebastian lochbronner
Menu

Common stumbling blocks when creating WooCommerce online stores

If you plan to build an online store based on WordPress, then you actually automatically come across WooCommerce. About [...]
March 24, 2021

If you want to use the Building an online store on the basis of WordPress, then you actually automatically come across WooCommerce. More than 1/3 of all online stores worldwide are operated with the Combination WordPress and WooCommerce regardless of the industry or the size of the product range. WooCommerce briefly explained: WooCommerce is a free software program that can be accessed from other software applications. With it, WordPress, the most common content management, can be transformed into an e-commerce solution, serving as the basis for an independent online store.

So, WooCommerce is a fully customizable e-commerce feature extension for WordPress, which greatly simplifies and facilitates the creation of an online store. WooCommerce is an open source solution. With it, any products can be set and offered in the store. In addition, WooCommerce can also be used as a billing module for extensions in WordPress such as services or the sale of online training. The easy integration of payment gateways such as PayPal greatly limits abandonment rates and ensures a faster cash flow than is often the case in other store systems.

Häufige Stolpersteine bei Erstellung von WooCommerce Online-Shop

For many companies, brands and retailers, e-commerce is still uncharted territory. (Illustration by Thierry Fousse from Icons8)

Stumbling blocks

A standard setup of WooCommerce is done quickly - the challenge with every store lies in the realization of the individual requirements. We have listed some problems and stumbling blocks that you can often encounter when creating an online store.

Theme used must be optimized

Important in the creation of a store is the clear creation of the target group and a coherent design concept for it. Unfortunately, this aspect is often not recognized in its value and therefore neglected. A successful store requires a clearly thought-out concept, starting with the definition of the target group, through a consistent appearance, to the sales texts.

User guidance must be simple

Customers feel comfortable only on web stores that are easy to use. If a store is complicated, cumbersome or unclear, it will not be successful. Newcomers to the online store sector in particular often have problems with user-friendly implementation. This starts with the presentation of the product range and extends to the loading speed of the pages and optimization for mobile users. If, for example, the checkout process is complicated and incomprehensible, potential buyers will drop out before they can complete the transaction.

Increase conversion

If a store is to be profitable, the conversion rate must be right, i.e. the proportion of store visitors who ultimately actually put my product in the shopping cart and buy it. The goal should therefore be to increase and stabilize the conversion rate. Many clicks alone do not make the success.
Therefore, when creating a store, you must not forget to make an exact analysis of your target group and their buying behavior. The web design and the structure of your store must be coordinated with this.

Choosing a good hosting

Problems often occur when the importance of good hosting is underestimated during a store setup. A standard WooCommerce setup seems to be done quickly. (An SSL certificate is standard). The real challenge lies in the fact that the selected hosting can realize and optimally implement the individual circumstances and requirements of your store.

Server

In case of a high order volume, the server may be down.
High order volumes occur, for example, around holidays such as Christmas or before Valentine's Day. If you sell items in your store that are particularly popular as gifts on such days, you may run the risk of your website going down because your server cannot handle the load of requests if your hoster is weak.

SEO challenges

Your customers will mostly search for you via Google, and hopefully find you. And it is here that the next potential stumbling block appears: the SEO challenges. You must here Note areas such as product and category pages, filters, pagination. For beginners often big question marks and hurdles.

[sc name="newsletter-register-inline"]

Legal traps

Internet use is strictly regulated in Germany, which also includes e-commerce. It is therefore absolutely necessary to obtain precise information and, if necessary, advice, especially in the legal area, in order to avoid warnings. The default installation of WooCommerce was developed for the American market. So you have to be aware that possible adaptations for the German market may be necessary. (Retrofit with plugin)

Logistical aspects

Many new store operators underestimate the extent of the preparatory work in the logistical area. This includes points such as shipping costs, returns, to which countries should be sold / shipped, compliance with legal requirements when shipping to the desired countries, different VAT rates, foreign currencies, possible payment options, inventory management, implementation after receipt of order, managing returns, complaints. The list could be extended almost endlessly.

Customer base/turnover grows: administrative work becomes too large

You are happy when your customer base and your sales increase steadily over time. But with it, the work in the administrative area also grows. You have to create invoices, manage cancellations and returns, keep your accounting up to date, pay attention to the tax. It's easy to lose track of everything. A relief here is a suitable accounting software. With it you can create invoices and quotes or manage your customer orders and accounting.

How can we help you?

When creating a WooCommerce online store, many aspects must be considered, and this from the very beginning. Otherwise, unnecessary problems and avoidable costs will arise. We are happy to assist you with our many years of expertise and fresh ideas. Our broad know-how helps you to build up your brand and also supports you with the growing technical requirements that an online store has to meet today. Together we develop a functioning store system to establish your offer optimally in the market and make it successful.

Send email
Say hi!

Sebastian Lochbronner
86830 Schwabmünchen
Germany

Social

Lochbronner Design Studio goes codeblick - read article here

Häufige Stolpersteine bei Erstellung von WooCommerce Online-Shops

Wenn du den Aufbau eines Online-Shops auf der Basis von WordPress planst, dann stößt du eigentlich automatisch auf WooCommerce. Über 1/3 aller Online-Shops weltweit werden mit der Kombination WordPress und WooCommerce betrieben, und dies unabhängig von Branche oder Sortimentsgröße. WooCommerce kurz erklärt: WooCommerce ist ein kostenloses Softwareprogramm, auf das von anderen Softwareanwendungen zugegriffen werden kann. Damit kann WordPress, das gängigste Contentmanagement, in eine E-Commerce-Lösung umgewandelt werden und dient damit als Grundlage für einen selbständigen Onlineshop.

WooCommerce ist also eine vollständig anpassbare E-Commerce-Funktionserweiterung für WordPress, was die Erstellung eines Online-Shops stark vereinfacht und erleichtert. WooCommerce ist eine Open-Source-Lösung. Damit können beliebig Produkte eingestellt und im Shop angeboten werden. Darüber hinaus kann WooCommerce auch als Abrechnungsmodul für Erweiterungen in WordPress wie Dienstleistungen oder den Verkauf von Online-Fortbildungen genutzt werden. Die einfache Integration von Payment-Gateways wie PayPal grenzt die Abbruchraten stark ein und sorgt für einen schnelleren Cashflow als dies in anderen Shop-Systemen oft üblich ist.

Häufige Stolpersteine bei Erstellung von WooCommerce Online-Shop

Für viele Unternhemen, Marken und Händler ist e-Commerce immer noch unerforschtes Terrain. (Illustration by Thierry Fousse from Icons8)

Stolpersteine

Eine Standard-Einrichtung von WooCommerce ist schnell gemacht- – Die Herausforderung bei jedem Shop liegt in der Realisierung der individuellen Anforderungen. Wir haben euch einige Probleme und Stolpersteine aufgeführt, über die ihr bei der Erstellung eines Online-Shops häufig stoßen könnt.

Verwendetes Theme muss optimiert sein

Wichtig bei der Erstellung eines Shops ist die klare Erstellung der Zielgruppe und ein dafür schlüssiges Designkonzept. Leider wird dieser Aspekt oft nicht in seiner Wertigkeit erkannt und deshalb vernachlässigt. Ein erfolgreicher Shop bedingt ein klar durchdachtes Konzept, ausgehend von der Ziel-Definition über ein durchgängiges Erscheinungsbild bis hin zu den Verkaufstexten.

Benutzerführung muss einfach sein

Kunden fühlen sich nur auf Webshops wohl, die einfach in ihrer Handhabung sind. Ist ein Shop kompliziert, umständlich oder unübersichtlich, wird er nicht erfolgreich werden. Gerade Neueinsteiger im Bereich Online-Shop haben da oft Probleme in der benutzerfreundlichen Umsetzung. Das beginnt bei der Darstellung des Warensortiments bis hin zur Ladegeschwindigkeit der Seiten und der Optimierung für Mobil-Nutzer. Ist beispielsweise der Kaufabschluss kompliziert und unverständlich, steigen mögliche Käufer schon vorher wieder aus.

Conversion erhöhen

Soll ein Shop gewinnbringend sein, muss die Conversions-Rate stimmen, also der Anteil der Shopbesucher, der letztendlich mein Produkt auch wirklich in den Warenkorb legt und damit kauft. Ziel sollte also sein, die Conversion zu erhöhen und zu stabilisieren. Viele Klicks allein machen den Erfolg also nicht aus.
Deshalb darf bei der Shop-Erstellung nicht vergessen werden, eine genaue Analyse deiner Zielgruppe und deren Kaufverhalten zu erarbeiten. Daraufhin abgestimmt muss das Webdesign und der Aufbau deines Shops sein.

Wahl eines guten Hostings

Probleme gibt es häufig, wenn bei einem Shop-Aufbau die Bedeutung eines guten Hostings unterschätzt wird. Eine Standard-Einrichtung von WooCommerce scheint schnell gemacht. (Ein SSL-Zertifikat ist Standard.) Die eigentliche Herausforderung liegt darin, dass das gewählte Hosting die individuellen Gegebenheiten und Anforderungen eures Shops realisieren und optimal umsetzen kann.

Server

Bei einem hohen Bestell-Aufkommen kann es sein, dass der Server ausfällt.
Hohe Bestell-Aufkommen treten beispielsweise um Feiertage wie etwa Weihnachten oder auch vor dem Valentinstag auf. Wenn du in deinem Shop also Artikel verkaufst, die an solchen Tagen als Geschenke besonders begehrt sind, läufst du bei einem schwachen Hoster unter Umständen Gefahr, dass deine Website in die Knie geht, weil dein Server die Last der Anfragen nicht verarbeiten kann.

SEO-Herausforderungen

Eure Kunden werden euch meistens über Google suchen, und hoffentlich auch finden. Und gerade hier taucht der nächste mögliche Stolperstein auf: die SEO-Herausforderungen. Ihr müsst hier Bereiche beachten wie Produkt- und Kategorie-Seiten, Filter, Paginierung. Für Einsteiger oft große Fragezeichen und Hürden.

Ihre Anmeldung konnte nicht gespeichert werden. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihre Anmeldung war erfolgreich.

Newsletter abonnieren und keinen Beitrag mehr verpassen (Datenschutzerklärung)

Rechtliche Fallen

Die Internetnutzung ist in Deutschland streng geregelt, was auch den E-Commerce miteinschließt. Es ist also unbedingt notwendig, dass man sich gerade im rechtlichen Bereich genau informiert und gegebenenfalls auch beraten lässt, um Abmahnungen zu vermeiden. Die Standardinstallation von WooCommerce wurde für den amerikanischen Markt entwickelt. Man muss also darauf achten, dass eventuelle Anpassungen für den deutschen Markt notwendig sein können. (Nachrüsten mit Plugin)

Logistische Aspekte

Viele Neu-Shopbetreiber unterschätzen den Umfang der Vorbereitungsarbeiten im logistischen Bereich. Dazu zählen Punkte wie Versandkosten, Rücksendungen, in welche Länder soll verkauft/versendet werden, die Beachtung der gesetzlichen Vorschriften beim Versand in die gewünschten Länder, unterschiedliche Mehrwertsteuer-Raten, Fremd-Währungen, mögliche Bezahloptionen, Lagerverwaltung, Umsetzung nach Bestelleingang, Verwalten von Rücksendungen, Reklamationen. Die Liste könnte man schier endlos erweitern.

Kundenstamm/Umsatz wächst: Administrative Arbeiten werden zu groß

Ihr freut euch, wenn euer Kundenstamm und euer Umsatz mit der Zeit stetig zu nimmt. Aber damit wächst auch die Arbeit im administrativen Bereich. Ihr müsst Rechnungen erstellen, Stornos und Rücksendungen verwalten, eure Buchhaltung auf Stand halten, auf die Steuer achten. Da verliert man schnell mal den Überblick. Eine Erleichterung ist hier eine passende Buchhaltungssoftware. Damit könnt ihr Rechnungen und Angebote erstellen oder eure Kundenbestellungen und Buchhaltung verwalten.

Wie können wir dir helfen?

Bei der Erstellung eines WooCommerce Online-Shops müssen viele Aspekte beachten werden, und dies von Anfang an. Sonst entstehen unnötige Probleme und damit auch vermeidbare Kosten. Wir stehen dir da mit unserer langjährigen Expertise und frischen Ideen gerne zur Seite. Unser breites Know-How hilft beim Aufbau deiner Marke und unterstützt dich auch bei den wachsenden technischen Anforderungen, die ein Online-Shop heute mit sich bringt. Gemeinsam entwickeln wir ein funktionierendes Shop-System, um dein Angebot optimal im Markt zu etablieren und erfolgreich zu machen.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Aus Agentur & Kunde wird ein Wir.

Großartiges erschaffen, das geht nur gemeinsam!

Servus! Ich bin Sebastian, Gründer von Lochbronner Design Studio. Ich und mein Team, wir lieben spannende Brand Storys und herausragendes Design. Wie können wir Dir helfen?
 

KENNENLERNEN
close-link
Send this to a friend